Blown away

Blown away, that’s totally what I am. Last week I received a letter in the mail from my sweet cousin and taped to the letter was a check for our adoption. The check was all of the money in their own adoption account, generously and sacrificially gifted to us. I was crying before I even read her words and I was utterly stunned. I could not believe that there are people like Karen and Josh in this world. That they would give so generously to us! You have to read Karen’s blog in order to fully appreciate the weight and love of this gift. Read her blog here.

Karen and Josh have loved and lost four precious babies. Their kids have loved and lost their siblings. I cannot even speak to the pain they have walked through having never known that kind of pain myself. I can only imagine that it is gut wrenching and deep and all consuming. I was asked by them to take pictures of their beautiful daughter, Lily, when she was born asleep. I watched them love her and marvel at how tiny and perfect she was. I watched them pray over her and love each other in such a way that it was truly one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever witnessed. They pursued adoption and we were overjoyed when they were matched with a birth mom who was expecting a baby girl. I watched Karen and Josh do fundraisers, work extra hours and do anything and everything  they could to bring their baby home. God was faithful and He provided. They were devastated and we were all stunned when the baby they loved and were preparing for was diagnosed with a fatal condition. Their hearts were broken yet again. I couldn’t wrap my head around how cruel this was. They were such amazing parents. They had lost so much and yet they continued to love and to pour themselves out in any way that they could. Even in their pain, they continued to bless others.

I tell you all of this so that you will understand how beautiful this gift is to us. It represents their love, compassion and sacrifice and it represents their unimaginable losses.  Wrapped up in each of those dollars is their heart and their story. It is a precious gift, a priceless gift.

I am blown away that two years ago when they started their own adoption journey, God was moving. He used their little Ember to draw their heart towards foster care adoption and he blessed their family when Karen gave birth to a beautiful baby boy. He knew that when they gave themselves one year to decide what to do, that we would be embarking on our adoption. He moved their hearts to give so that our boy Shawn could know the love of a mom and dad; so that he could find himself in the midst of brothers and a sister who adore him. Most importantly, they gave so that one orphaned boy could know that the God of the universe made him and loves him beyond our wildest beliefs. Not only will Shawn have the hope and future that comes with being a treasured part of a family, but he will know the One who is hope and who gives him a future.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you Josh and Karen. You have no idea how much you mean to us and how grateful and humbled we are that you would give so generously to us. Thank you to each person who gave toward Josh and Karen’s adoption. Your love for them has now been lavished upon us and we are so grateful to each one of you. Thank you doesn’t even seem adequate, but thank you nonetheless for being part of the amazing story God is writing as He makes a boy across the globe our beloved son.

Leave a comment